Cheddar’s, Midwest City, OK

Cheddar's Casual Cafe on Urbanspoon

I was first introduced to Cheddar’s a number of years ago in Plano, TX. Since then I have eaten at several Cheddar’s: Richardson and Dallas, TX; Joplin, Missouri; and Clearwater, FL. I don’t know that I’ve ever had any bad food at a Cheddar’s. I’ve always liked their Chicken Fried Steaks, cheeseburgers, salad, steak, soup, etc.

I’ve referenced Cheddar’s as one of the restaurants that open in smaller markets before they open in Oklahoma in general, and Oklahoma City in particular. Cheddar’s opened a restaurant in Tulsa last year, and I just noticed that they opened one in Norman. Just in the past month, Cheddar’s opened in Midwest City.

Today a couple work friends and I checked it out. We got there around 1150, and had about a five minute wait to be seated. The restaurant is really nicely appointed on the inside. It reminded me of an Elephant Bar.

I got a Chicken Fried Steak. It was tender, and had good taste. There were a couple pockets in the breading that were meat-free. The gravy was good, and not too peppery. I got mashed potatoes (tasty) and green beans (very good). The server brought more gravy quickly. The iced tea was good and strong.

As an appetizer, I ordered chips and salsa and queso. This was not a good value. The chips were good, but the salsa was about eight tablespoons total. I didn’t try to ask for more. It was chunky and not spicy at all. The queso was not good. It was OK for the taste, but it was really thick, like concrete that was setting up. I would not get it again.

So overall, it was a good meal, except for the queso.

My check was $14.52, of which $3.99 was the chips and queso and salsa. We got out around 1300.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

