Blue Moon Cafe, Ada, OK

Blue Moon Cafe on Urbanspoon

After I finished judging the State Science Fair yesterday, I got a recommendation for this restaurant.

I got there around 1730 and the place was packed. I got a seat within a minute, and tea (muchly needed, excellent, and kept refilled) arrived a minute later. The tea was in a big glass. I had four glasses of the stuff while I was there (of course, but the time I got back to OKC 1.5 hours later, I went straight to the head!).

The place is done in a 50-60s motif, and rock and roll from the era was playing, just a touch too loud.

I ordered chips and salsa to start, as I haven’t had any good C&S in a while. This stuff was good, the chips were crispy, and the salsa was just the right temperature.

I started to order a CFS, but my server told me without asking that it was premade frozen stuff (although she said it was still pretty good). Next I ordered the New York Strip, but she told me the owner had taken it off the menu since not enough people ordered it. So… I tried for the ribeye, and… SCORE! I got it with mashed potatoes and gravy and pinto beans. It was all pretty darn good. The pintos reminded me very precisely of the pintos I get at H&R House in Oklahoma City, the taste and consistency were exactly the same, although the Blue Moon beans didn’t have salt pork in them like H&Rs. The steak was pretty good for a “cafe”. It was tender and had a lot of good flavor. In fact, it was more tasty than some of the steak I’ve had over the past couple weeks.

I got some chocolate pie for dessert. The whole meal was pretty darn good, I was impressed.

My server told me they hand breaded the chicken fried chicken, that that it was excellent. Next time…

I left at 1851 and the place was still packed. The service was great. My check was $30.35, but that of course included a dessert for me, and two mini pecan pies for my very cute and pecan-pie loving roommate. The place didn’t have wifi.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Blue Moon Cafe, Ada, OK”

  1. Bill Hensley Says:

    Raegan and Ian and I stopped here this evening on the way home from Dallas.

    I had a Chicken Fried Chicken, it was excellent! Hand breaded, plump, and juicy, great taste. Raegan got a fajita chicken taco salad and liked it. Ian had chicken fingers and liked them.

    A good second visit.

  2. arena Says:

    I’ve been surfing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.

    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all web owners and
    bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

