Porcupine Pub and Grille, Salt Lake City, UT

Porcupine Pub & Grille on Urbanspoon

After a punishing hike, I wanted some dinner that was close to the mountains. The Porcupine filled that bill.

I got there around 1730, and had about a ten-minute wait. The place was pretty much full. Some reviews I read before I went there talked about how it was a favorite of skiers, and it is just outside the mouth of Big Cottonwood Canyon.

I got iced tea (very good) and gunned the first glass down. The glass was refilled promptly and often.

The selections on the menu were kind of limited. There were a number of genres represented, but just not that many items to choose from. I really wanted a steak, but they only had filets, which I am not particularly enamored of.

I ordered a cup of chicken curry and rice soup to start. It was good, but didn’t have much chicken in it. It was mostly rice and curry sauce, and while the curry was good, it was not spicy in the slightest.

My entree arrived before I finished the cup of soup. I got a cheesesteak without the red and green peppers. It was pretty good. It came with fries.

I ended up the meal with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream.

The service was very good. I left at 1920. My check was $21.31.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

