The Green Pig Pub and Grill, Salt Lake City, UT

Green Pig Pub on Urbanspoon

I picked this place pretty much randomly. I had a recommendation for an Italian place near downtown, but it was out of business. I saw another interesting place, so I parked and walked there, but even though it was supposed to be open, they had closed early. The Green Pig was just down the street, so I gave it a try.

It was not a good start. I sat down and was roundly ignored for about 15 min. Finally, a server came over and took my drink order, for iced tea, as usual. It was another 10 minutes to get it, and it was HORRIBLE. It was a nasty mix of tea and coffee flavor. After about another 10 minutes, I finally got a menu, and I asked the server for Coke instead. It’s worth noting that a half hour later, she was picking up that vile swill, and asked why. I told her, and she said that yes, the tea and coffee were made from the same equipment, was that a problem? I suggested that they bleach one set of equipment and just use it for tea. Somehow, I don’t think my advice will be followed.

I arrived at about 2000. The place was about 80% full. Little eating (except for some appetizers) was going on, mainly it was drinking. After a bit, the front door crew turned up the volume on the the TV right over me, since a Jazz game was on. It was right on the borderline of my asking to turn it down.

The dinner menu was limited. I got a sorta-Cuban sandwich. The sandwich was pretty good, it was pressed and hot. The ham was really good. The fries that came with the sandwich were excellent – hand cut, fried to just the right level of crispiness, and they had seasoning salt (a little much in a couple cases, I brushed encrusted salt off into a nice layer on the bottom of the basket).

I left about 2100 – the place was full. It seems that the main part of the crowd was in their 20s and early 30s. The door people were actively checking IDs of every person – except me (grrr…), I may have to shave the beard off. The place has wifi that is fairly good. My check was $11.50. The service was not very good, but one of the male servers picked up the slack for my designated server.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “The Green Pig Pub and Grill, Salt Lake City, UT”

  1. Gastronomic Salt Lake City | Restaurant review round-up 04/17/10 Says:

    [...] and More (The Chinwag), Frida Bistro (Deseret News), Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse (The Foodworks), The Green Pig Pub and Grille (Bill Hensley’s Random Blog), Desert Edge Brewery (Tribune), Pounders Hawaiian Grill (The [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

