Italian Kitchen, or Rather, Steak and Catfish Barn, Oklahoma City, OK

Steak and Catfish on Urbanspoon

We have been to the Barn on Waterloo a couple times. I read an artical in the Oklahoma Gazette that mentioned how the Barn used to be a very good Italian restaurant. A couple months ago, I drove past the downtown location, fairly recently opened, that confusingly bears both names.

I got there around 1230 for lunch today. It was pretty much empty.

I ordered spaghetti with meat sauce, with a couple extra meat balls. It comes with a garden salad: I got some very good ranch dressing with it.

The spaghetti was excellent! It was al dente, rare for a restaurant, and the meat sauce was just perfectly thick enough, loaded with beef, a bit of sausage, mushrooms, and lots of thre stuff.

The meat ballas were another thing altogether. I didn’t like them at all. They had an odd texture, and there was no meat flavor to speak of. I just couldn’t eat them, and would not get them again.

The only “problem”, the amount of food was grossly huge. I could have fed everyone in my family with that bowl (well, except Ian, he doesn’t *do* spaghetti).

I ended up bringing a bunch home (a rarity for me). I didn’t even try to eat the garlic bread, although it looked good.

The tea was good. Service, I don’t think was very good. Even in the mostly-empty restaurant, I was seated and served slowly. I left around 1320, it was pretty much empty.

My check was $22.20. I think that the spaghetti and meat sauce was $13, and so the meat balls must have been pretty expensive. I would not get them, and I would get a half order of pasta as well, if possible.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Italian Kitchen, or Rather, Steak and Catfish Barn, Oklahoma City, OK”

  1. paul duncan Says:

    The Catfish Barn was a 2010 stop for Travel Channel’s Adam Richman “Man vs. Food”. He took the fried catfish challenge. He also visited Cattleman’s during his OKC visit. Surprised you missed that one Bill!

    http://www.travelchannel.com/TV_Shows/Man_V_Food/Photos/Slideshow_Oklahoma_City

    • Bill Hensley Says:

      Hi, Paul! Glad to see you on WordPress. I didn’t know that “Man vs. Food” was at Steak and Catfish Barn, I don’t watch that program. I do seem to be following Guy from “Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives” around; he’s been to a number of places I later show up at.

      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

