Anthony’s Fish Grotto, San Diego, CA

Anthony's Fish Grotto on Urbanspoon

Anthony’s is a San Diego institution. I went there last night for dinner with three other work friends. It was my suggestion. I had eaten here with the family when I had them at SD back in 2003, and before that, somewhere back in the early 1990s.

I looked at the menu and was sort of appalled. I’m not a fish person; I like chicken and beef. There was only one chicken dish. There were five or so beef dished, but every single one was a teriyaki marinade of sirloin. They were all small, also, like six ounce.

I ended up getting fish and chips, starting with a cup of New England Chowder. I should have had the bowl; it was the best part of the meal. The fish was decent; it had little flavor, and was a chunky whitefish. The breading could have been a bit crispier to help it hold it’s shape. It came with chips (OK at best). The iced tea was pretty good.

We got there around 1830 and left around 1900. My check was $25.45. Service was good. The other guys all thought the seafood was pretty good.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

