Pappy’s Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK

Pappy's Diner on Urbanspoon

I have driven by Pappy’s many times over the years, and have eaten at the BBQ location next door a couple times. I had arrived at OKC yesterday very hungry after a very early early start in San Diego, and so decided to eat here for lunch. One thing – they close at 1400, and are only open Monday – Friday.

I got there about 1325 and left about 1415. It was not crowded. I got iced tea, pretty good.

I ordered a house specialty, the chicken fried steak. It was advertised as hand breaded. I was not impressed. The CFS was very thin. There was rim of breading around it that was tough. The breading had an odd flavor to it that was not altogether pleasing. The steak part was smallish and had little flavor to it. The gravy was pretty good. It came with mashers (decent) and two sides (green beans and mac and cheese, both OK).

Service was excellent. The cheeseburgers that I saw looked pretty good. My check was $9.81.

Overall, I was not impressed by the CFS. If I get a chance to go back, I would try something else.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

