Hickory Road BBQ, Auburn, NE

Hickory Road BBQ & Catering Co. on Urbanspoon

After a long, hard hike at nearby Indian Cave State Park, I was coming into Omaha via Auburn. I saw Hickory Road as I drove through town, and decided to hit it for dinner. I got there about 1955, and left around 2040.

I ordered iced tea to start. It was Gold Coast, and not bad, but like most Gold Coast, not very good, either.

I got a three-meat special, with sliced brisket, chopped pork, and pulled chicken. It was all excellent! The meat was all tender, had great flavor, and was in a perfect quantity. I really like the chopped pork in particular. I mixed the hot and sweet sauces about equally, and that made a great enhancement to the meat. The meal came with a chunk of corn, two sides (I chose mac and cheese and baked beans), and a bread stick. All of this was really good.

The only downer was a very loud and very drunk woman at another table. Service was good. My check was $19.20.

One thing I found amusing – the food presentation was right out of a Famous Dave’s. The sides, the corn, the round dish and checked paper, all made me think I was in a Dave’s. Except the BBQ at Hickory Road was better.

If you are traveling through Auburn, this is a darn fine place to get some chow.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Hickory Road BBQ, Auburn, NE”

  1. Chris Salazar Says:

    I ordered a rack of ribs to go last Friday , I am very picky on my ribs and they were fantastic , I mean fantastic better than author Bryant’s in Kansas city 2 weeks before , I will drive the hour it takes to get to auburn again just for that BBQ , very happy customer thank you ,

  2. free instagram followers Says:

    I blog quite often and I really thank you for your information. This article has
    truly peaked my interest. I am going to bookmark your site and keep checking for new details
    about once a week. I subscribed to your Feed too.
    free instagram followers with regard to instagram marketing

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

