Cafe Rio Mexican Grill, Rock Springs, WY

Cafe Rio Mexican Grill on Urbanspoon

We stopped at Cafe Rio largely because it was next door to the Hastings book and music store. Cafe Rio is sorta like Chipotle Mexican Grill.

Raegan and Erin split a chicken quesadilla. The chicken was a bit greasier than I would have expected, but it was tasty!

Ian got three chicken soft tacos. The small bite I had was good; Ian demolished them. ‘Nuff said. He also got a side of the pinto beans, and ate every scrap.

I got… something. I usually like the Chipotle burrito bowl. Cafe Rio sort of folded the edges up on a tortilla to make a bowl, then filled it with double shredded chicken (this was in a sorta spicy sauce instead of just grilled), black beans, lettuce, and who knows what all. The hot salsa really wasn’t very hot, but the meal overall was really good. I didn’t leave any of it.

We got a side of queso and chips. The chips were excellent, light and crispy. The queso wasn’t very hot, either thermally or taste-wise, and it was quite thick. I think it needed to be thinned.

The place had a huge variety of drinks, including no less than four iced teas, a large soda selection, and several lemonades. The iced tea was China Mist, which I am wary of, but it wasn’t too bad. I left with some Coke in my cup; that tells you something.

Our check was $44.70. A bit expensive, but good. The staff was really friendly and funny. They would occasionally do the equivalent of a huzza; when I specified double meat I got one. I noticed another Cafe Rio here in Vernal, UT as we got into town, so I guess they are a chainlet. I wouldn’t have any problem eating in one again.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Cafe Rio Mexican Grill, Rock Springs, WY”

  1. Stacy Says:

    Thanks for the shout out Amigo. Well done.

  2. katheryn Says:

    Bad service Mariana is a crazy girl I don’t know where she’s from but she’s thinking bill clinton dauther.they need more nice people.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

