Whataburger (N May), Oklahoma City, OK

Whataburger on Urbanspoon

My last experience with Whataburger was not pleasant. My good friend Gary and I had departed my night shift computer operator job at Tayloe Paper in Tulsa, OK, about 2200, and went to a Whataburger just north of the place. At that point in my life, I was living about 80% off of McD Quarter Pounders with Cheese. Anyway, Gary and I went to Whataburger, I had one, and I became very, very ill. I didn’t like the burger, either :). I’ve not been back since. That was 1980.

Fast forward to 2012. A car dealership across the street from St. J was torn down a bit ago, and a number of businesses built there, including the Whataburger. I was working at school in early September, didn’t have a car, and so I decided to walk over and give the place a try.

It wasn’t bad! I got a #2, which is a double cheeseburger with mystery sauce; I subbed mayo. The burger had some texture (which is disappearing from many chains, Sonic and Braum’s in particular), and had decent beef flavor. The fries were nothing special. The place has brewed iced tea that was pretty good. My check was $6.93. I would not mind going back. I might even try another WAB somewhere else.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

