Cattlemen’s Steakhouse, Oklahoma City, OK

Cattlemen's Steakhouse on Urbanspoon

Cattlemen’s, of course, is an OKC institution. Given that, we don’t go here very often as it is really off the beaten path as far as our usual Oklahoma City trails go. Last Friday, we decided to meet there as Erin was finishing piano practice near Belle Isle, and I was returned a rental car to the airport after a trip to Dallas.

We got there around 1800 and left about 1945. The place was pretty much filled up at 1730, and we had a 20 minute wait for a table. Our table was in the back of the restaurant, and we were about 30 feet away from the door to the smoking area. One note here: when we were seated, there were only three people in that room, and around the end of the meal, it was full. There was so much traffic in and out that we had smoke smell for a bit while we were having dessert and waiting for our check. Be aware if you are smoke sensitive.

Raegan and Erin got salads with the famous Cattleman’s dressing, which I do not like at all. They didn’t eat much of it either. Ian and I had steak soup, which was very good.

Raegan got the salmon and liked it. Erin got a chicken fried steak but didn’t eat much of it (she was tired after a long day). I tried her CFS, and it was quite odd tasting. The odd flavor (in the breading) masked most of the beef flavor. I had another bite with just the steak, and it was pretty decent. So there was something in the breading that was weird. Ian and I got steak; he the ribeye, a t-bone for me. Knowing they use a super hot grill, we ordered them medium rare, and they came just that way. Letting the steaks rest at the table got them to a nice medium. Ian inhaled his. Mine was left as a piece of denuded bone. Great flavor and very tender, an excellent steak. I finished mine while Raegan and Erin had slices of chocolate and lemon pie.

Our check was $97.85 (big steaks and salmon add up fast). It was worth it, though. The tea was a little weak. Service was pretty good in spite of the restaurant being completely full. I need to go here more often. The last time was when Raegans brother was in town about six years ago. We shouldn’t wait that long again.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Cattlemen’s Steakhouse, Oklahoma City, OK”

  1. Raegan Says:

    I realize this is heresy, coming from an Oklahoman, but I’m just “meh” about Cattleman’s. If I was a steak person, I’d probably like it better, but for everything else, it’s just average. The salmon and rice at Longhorn’s is better. The famous dressing tastes, to me, like mayo with garlic juice added, the big rolls are just white-bread rolls.

    This smoking section is vile…within half an hour I was coughing. If I was the business owner, I’d lose that section. Having customers turn around and walk away because of a 45 minute wait to be seated, while the smoking section sits 3/4 empty, doesn’t make good business sense to me. Really, people ought to be able to cope and not need to suck poison into their bodies for an hour while they eat.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

