Kojak’s House of Ribs, Tampa, FL

Kojak's House of Ribs on Urbanspoon

This was a wonderful find! I chose Kojak’s for lunch based on reviews on Google. It was close to MacDill, which was also nice.

I got the two meat of ribs and chicken. In short, on a scale of 1 to JT’s, those ribs were a 9.8. They had a smoky taste that was unique to me. Tender and flavorful. They were just a touch greasy (I think they were short ribs, instead of spare ribs, maybe?). They didn’t need much sauce. The chicken was perfect, with wonderful flavor, moist all the way through. Great stuff. I got green beans (great!) and something new, parsley potatoes. While these red skin-on potatoes had some chopped parsley, they were in pure butter, and had just the right amount of garlic. Wonderful. I liked the BBQ sauce also. They had excellent sweet tea.

We got there at 1115 and were back at work at 1210. My check was $16.48, excellent value. Service was prompt (we had to wait TWO minutes between our order and delivery of our food :). I would be happy to return.

A postscript: As we were paying, I saw the business card for Kojak’s. It had the motto “Famous Oklahoma Style”. This is the second Oklahoma connection I’ve run across in Tampa (the first being Square 1 Burgers last week). I asked, and it turns out Kojak’s was originally along 29th street across from Tinker Air Force Base! They had a photo of the place, and it looked like where the Bomber Club now is across from the golf course. Pretty cool!

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Kojak’s House of Ribs, Tampa, FL”

  1. Chris Forney Says:

    Thank you for the great review.

  2. ganar dinero mientras duermes Says:

    Incredible! I’m genuinely enjoying the design of your weblog. Are you using a customized theme or is this readily available to all individuals? If you really don’t want to say the name
    of it out in the public, please contact me at: ramonblum@zoho.
    com. I’d absolutely love to get my hands on this theme! Thanks a lot.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

