Leo’s Barbeque, Oklahoma City, OK

Leo's Barbeque on Urbanspoon

The last time I was able to eat at Leo’s was back in the mid-90s; I met my Mom there after she had an errand to run in the OKC area. I recall it was very good; it still is.

I had lunch here today. I got there at 1145 and was seated immediately; 15 minutes later the place was packed. I purused the menu a couple minutes, and didn’t find what I was looking for, but when I asked my server she said that a combo of ribs and brisket was no problem. I got potato salad and baked beans for my sides.

Those first: I am not a huge fan of potato salad, since people tend to put a lot of weird (to me) stuff in them; I like potatoes, mayo and mustard, and some pickle relish. This stuff was close to that, and I liked it a lot. The baked beans had brisket in them, including a couple pieces of beef fat. YUM YUM YUM. Those were some of the best BBQ beans I’ve had.

The brisket was outstanding; just the right amount of tender, a nice smoky flavor. The ribs were an 8 on a scale of 1 to JT’s. They didn’t have quite as much meat, and there were some tough parts to them, but the outside was a nice crisp, and the meat had a decent, smoky flavor to it.

The BBQ sauce was OK, but not one of my favorites. It was way sweet, and had no bite to it at all.

I got the famous strawberry and banana cake, with some icing on it. A nice end to the meal.

Service was perfect. The iced tea was perfect. My check was $12.99, good value.

I will not wait 10+ years to go back.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

