Granny’s Kitchen, Stillwater, OK

Granny's Kitchen on Urbanspoon

Allow me a bit of going back in time. I love Stillwater. I loved Granny’s Kitchen when I was in Stillwater in the early 80s. There was a time when I would have both breakfast and dinner there. The food was outstanding, and the prices right for college kids. In some ways, the CFS I had at Granny’s back then is still part of the standards by which I judge them now.

So when I was looking for food on Urbanspoon a couple weeks ago, and saw the Granny’s logo I remembered, I knew I had to give it a try. It’s in the same building, but around the corner, even! Yesterday, we had a block of time in the early afternoon, so we headed to Stillwater. We got there around 1400.

We started out with two cinnamon rolls, and chili cheese fries (odd, I know). The rolls were excellent, thick and tender, perfectly seasoned. We all liked the fries as well.

Raegan got a double BLT and enjoyed it. Erin got a ham and cheese and cheese, and cheese, omelet; she enjoyed it and couldn’t finish it. Ian got the “Pig Biscuit”, which was biscuits and gravy and bacon, and bacon (really!). He likened it to the Hot Mess we got at a place in Bozeman, and it was great! I got the CFS, which came with mashers (red skin-ons), green beans, and very good sausage gravy. I seem to remember the menu said it was hand-breaded, but it looked way too regular. Regardless, it was a pretty darn good CFS. I loved the gravy, great stuff. The green beans were good, as were the mashers.

The iced tea was excellent, and the servive was outstanding. Our check was $50.21. We got a heck of a lot of food for that money, so it was good value. We drove up there from OKC specifically to eat. Would I do that again? Probably not. But I sure would eat there again if I was in Stillwater for some other reason.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

