Freddie’s, Sapulpa, OK

Freddie's Bar-B-Q Steak House on Urbanspoon

Friday, as Erin and I were returning from Muskogee, I decided to try Freddie’s, which I have heard is very good. I called ahead from the Muskogee Turnpike; they do not take reservations, but have a call ahead list. I told them we would be there at 1830, we got there at 1825, and still waited about 30 minutes for a table, so I don’t know what good the call ahead is.

Regardless, after we were seated we were visited promptly. We had our order ready, but the server didn’t want to take it, but just drinks only.

Being that Freddie’s is a Lebanese steakhouse, we got some appetizers that are pretty substantial: some BBQ ribs (not bad at all), some BBQ balogna (OK, but I’m not a big balogna fan), some tabouli and hummus (tried, still don’t like either), and a beef cabbage roll (very good). The BBQ sauce that the ribs and balogna were drenched in was a sweet hickory sauce that I thought was pretty good (I dipped a piece of my steak in it later, and liked the combination). A fairly standard green salad also, with ranch that was very good.

Our entrees took a while to arrive, but the place was packed. Erin got a chicken fried steak and liked it. I tried it, and while I don’t think it was hand breaded there, it wasn’t too bad, about an 8 out of 10. The gravy was pretty good, as where the green beans (with onion and bacon).

I got a ribeye. I ordered it medium, but it came medium rare. I let it sit while I dressed my baked potato, and it finished cooking to a nice just-below-medium. The steak had a couple small places where there was some charring, but not noticable in the taste. The steak was pretty darn good, not fork-tender but very close, and with great flavor. The steak had been cooked in (or drenched in post-grill) a black sauce that was like a weak Worshtishire. It didn’t have a lot of flavor, just a bit. The steak has a couple pieces of tough gristle, but otherwise was devoured. The steak came with a decent-sized baker that I loaded with some butter.

Speaking of butter… the meal came with some butter. On a dish, put there with an ice cream scoop. No kidding, it was a huge amount of butter, it had to be at least a stick of the stuff. Sweet butter, too.

The iced tea was good, but served in tiny little glasses. I asked our tea server to fill up one of the other glasses on the table (we were seated at a four-place), and he did, so he saved himself some walking time. Service was very good, until the time came to get the check, our server would disappear for a bit, then not look our direction several times. He finally came to clear some dishes, I tried to hand him my card, but he said no and went off to get the check first. Very process-oriented, I guess.

So this was a pretty good dinner. Our check was $39.40. I have to make the comparison to Jamil’s. The steaks there tend to be larger, and more tender (I haven’t been to the relocated location). But Freddie’s isn’t bad at all.

What this really says is that I need to go to Jamil’s again, just to compare. :)

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

