Johnny’s Original Rib Shack‎, Guthrie, OK

Johnny's Original Rib Shack on Urbanspoon

I stopped here on the way out of OKC one fine Tuesday around lunch.

I got a two-meat special with ribs and chopped brisket, baked beans, and green beans. Good iced tea.

The ribs were pretty good. They were truly smoked and had a nice taste, but were a bit greasy. I went through about ten napkins. I chatted with the owner and mentioned it was my first time there, and he brought me enough extra ribs to make it a full rib dinner, on the house! Very nice. He also asked if he could wrap them up for me, but that was quite unnecessary, as ribs rarely stay around long enough to make it into a to-go box when I’m at chow.

I was not impressed by the chopped brisket. It was sloppy joe consistency and too gummy. The baked beans were OK. The green beans were really, really good. I’ll get a double order of them next time.

Leave a Reply

