Crisper’s, Lakeland, FL

Crispers on Urbanspoon

After my training was over for this trip, I decided to go on a hike in the Richloam section of Florida’s Withlacoochee State Forest. Unfortunately, the hike was deluged out by a series of thunderstorms.

However, I ate lunch at a place called Crisper’s Fresh Salads, Sandwiches, and Soups. It was pretty good.

Getting there was a heck of a trip. I had decided to have lunch in Lakeland, and wanted a place with Wi-Fi. Both Panera Bread and Crisper’s came up, and they won out since they were new to me. I looked for the Google-listed location on S. Florida Avenue, but it was not to be found. I called the number on the listing and found that a (or, I think, “the”) Crisper’s was about a mile to the west. I theorize that the location was moved from the older shopping center on Florida to a newer one on Harden, and Google’s listing has not caught up yet.

I got a pulled pork half sandwich on wheat, a cup of chicken noodle soup, and a peanut butter cookie. All were pretty good. The pulled pork was NOT made by roasting pork loin, pulling it, and dumping on sauce. It was made by cooking the pork loin in the sauce, and that makes a big difference. The soup was good also, not so much big chunks of chicken and veg as a lot more smaller chunks. The PB cookie was good, but those are really hard to mess up. The tea was excellent. They also had sweet and raspberry varieties for those who like that sort of thing.

I used the wi-fi to check my email and double-check my navigation while I was there. I could not find any outlets to plug my phone into, so the teleconference I was multi-tasking into got cut a bit short. I need to get a car adapter for my Blackberry, or carry an inverter around everywhere.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

