The “Dam” Smoker, Eustis, FL

Dam Smoker Barbeque on Urbanspoon

As I cruised from Ocala National Forest towards Orlando this afternoon, and getting hungry, I was on the lookout for one of the “Fat Boys BBQ” restaurants, on the recommendation of fellow meeting attendee. I zipped past this place, and decided to check it out.

Oh my, oh my, oh my. On a scale of 1 to JT’s this place is about JT’s-0.5. The ribs were that good. The only thing I could count them down on was that the skin of the ribs wasn’t smoked quite as dark as JT’s does them. I think that’s why the ribs were just a touch juicer than JT’s, and just not quite fall-off-the-bone, but they were really close. They were truly smoked, and very, very tender. The smoke taste of the ribs was very interesting, a subtle but really good taste and aftertaste. I asked what they smoked with and got told it was a secret. Whatever, it was really good.

My order was $12.90, and for that, I got five ribs (three large and two medium), two sides, a huge drink (great iced tea!), and a slice of white bread (which got fed to the squirrels).

The BBQ beans were OK. The green beans were outstanding! A wonderful taste.

This place does take out and eat in; the eat in part closed at 1930, and the take out at 2000. One strange thing, they take either cash or a debit card (not a credit card). The debit card reader is on the take out side, and you get charged a $0.90 surcharge for using a debit card.

This place is just north of Eustis proper, at the intersection of FL 19 and FL 19A. The “DAM” comes from the small levee just to the north of the building.

If you like BBQ and are north of Orlando, check it out, it’s DAM good.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

