A Google Maps Funny

Raegan found a clip from Saturday about a tornado at high altitude in the Rockie Mountains. This storm was at 11,900 ft, and was the second-highest tornado every documented (interestingly enough, the highest was in the Sierra, and I just happened to take a photo of that storm while we were near Lone Pine, CA on the way to Death Valley; the photo made it into the NWS report of the storm). She sent me a link to the clip to check out.

I watched the clip, and then Googled the mountain where the storm happened. Turned out it was south of our route, but I noticed the name of I-70 on the Google map:

I wonder how it got that name? It was a LOL moment for me.

2 Responses to “A Google Maps Funny”

  1. Tom Says:

    I found the history here, some ways down the page:

    http://www.fhwa.dot.gov/infrastructure/us6.cfm

    Nothing all that interesting, unfortunately; no different than the way roads are named now. But there is a monument.

  2. Bill Hensley Says:

    Well, not so funny. When I saw “Grand Army of the Republic”, my first thought was the line in one of the Star Wars movies. I had never heard of the organization of Union Civil War veterans. I did some reading on them today, and learned a couple things. That makes it a good day.

Leave a Reply

