Legalized Pot and States and the Federal Government

OK, so I don’t have a dog in this fight. I don’t smoke the stuff. I’m never going to smoke the stuff, or ingest it in any way.

Given that, I do not understand why pot isn’t treated like Scotch. Both are intoxicating. One you smoke (like cigarettes or cigars) and one you drink. It seems to me like they should be treated the same legally. Heck, MJ is a Schedule 1 drug, and cocaine is a less-dangerous Schedule 2.

So Colorado and Washington now have de-criminalized pot. The stuff is legal to possess and smoke in those states, but it is not legal as far as the Federal government is concerned.

I only hope that the Fed doesn’t go nuts with huge police round-ups in those states. I hope that the Federal government sues the states involved, and let’s the courts sort the situation out, if the Congress won’t.

Leave a Reply

