The Hobbit Movie, Part 1

If such things bother you, there are spoilers here!

I love the Lord Of The Rings universe. As an epic battle of good vs evil, it just can’t be beat. I was concerned when the LOTR movies were made, but I liked them from the start, and still find them enjoyable watching.

So when it was announced that a movie version of The Hobbit was being made, I looked forward to it. We all went to see it last night at the local Tinseltown. We got there 30 minutes before showtime (a minor miracle, if you know us), but the theater was already half full. We got decent seats with our eye level being right below the centerline of the screen, not too bad.

The movie started out very nicely. Having the cameo by Frodo that tied to the LOTR trilogy was a nice touch, with the transition to the younger Bilbo done very well.

I’m not going to review the movie part by part. I will just say that I think it’s a mistake to turn it into a trilogy. Two movies, OK. But I don’t think there is enough material for three. I already feel that a good place to break the movies would have been at the point the dwarves were captured by the forest elves.

There were a couple things I didn’t like at all.

The abrupt departure of the Dwarves from Rivendell was dumb. In fact, the entire animosity played up between the races of Elves and Dwarves was overdone and unneeded.

The character of Radagast was not played well at all. His bunny sleigh? Spare me.

The character of Azog and the backstory with Thorin was annoying. I’m guessing that the scriptwriters wanted to see more battle than was in the book, and so used the Azog backstory to gin that up some. And with that said, having Thorin attack a warg-mounted Azog was a bit much.

The character of the Great Goblin was stupid.

The dwarves seem to be riding a series of amusment park rides, between the mountain pass, the goblins slide-o-fun, and the various wooden bridges and such that fall and swing and rotate.

I don’t think that the plot should have called for Bilbo to kill (although he killed spiders in the book), although he did kill to defend Thorin.

There were a couple things I particularly liked.

The meeting of Gandalf, Elrond, Galadrial, and Sauraman in Rivendell was very nice, with foreshadowing to the LOTR movies.

The flashbacks showing the dragon attack and the battle of the dwarves and orcs at Moria were well done.

I thought the contempt of Thorin for Bilbo was more in character than was written in the book. Thorin, of the direct line of Durin, and proud, would have looked down on what he saw as a prissy, soft hobbit.

So the movie was enjoyable overall. I think it needs to grow on me a bit. I hope that the remaining two movies are not filled up with out-of-canon stuff.

2 Responses to “The Hobbit Movie, Part 1”

  1. Raegan Says:

    But Elrond was in it. 🙂 That makes everything fine. 🙂

  2. The Hobbit Movie, Part 2 | Bill Hensley's Random Blog Says:

    […] We went to see the second Hobbit movie this morning. I was not extra impressed with the first part. […]

Leave a Reply

