An Interesting Video Push

Someone donated a Vizio smart TV to St. John’s. It got installed, I ran network and cable to it, and it’s working pretty well.

One of the church members tried using his iPhone and iPad to push video to the display wirelessly; it didn’t work. He asked me about it, and I did a little research that (1) taught me a little about the Apple AirShow function, and (2) showed the Vizio didn’t support AirShow. I got this info back to the church patron, and mentioned that cables could be bought that would connect the iThings to the TV via the HDMI port.

I was at St. John’s Thursday evening, and noticed that the Vizio had a new HDMI cable, connected to a plain box labeled Apple TV. Hmmm, I thought. I remembered reading about these boxes. I also remembered that Android machines could push to them.

I did a quick Google search for “airplay for android”, and there were a LOT of hits for the “ZappoTV” app. It looked fairly safe, so I downloaded it.

It took about 3 minutes, but that app connected my Galaxy S3 to the Apple TV box, and my S3 display was being replicated to the big Vizio! It was amazingly easy. The only thing was that I needed to restart both devices.

I tried video and still photos. I guess that the app works by using your authenticators to get pages like Google+ or YouTube as a proxy, then sending that data to the AirPlay, which takes the streaming video and dumps it to the Vizio.

So this was a cool example of cross-platform data sharing, and works pretty nice.

Leave a Reply

