We’ll Smoke U, Gretna, NE

We'll Smoke U BBQ on Urbanspoon

I was looking for BBQ for dinner, and saw that We’ll Smoke U (a silly name, I know) had very good reviews, so I decided to check it out. I was joined by three friends who have also been working in the Omaha area this week. We got there about 1845; they close at 1900, but it was no problem.

The menu is kind of odd. It seems that every one of the items is essentially a sandwich. It’s kind of limited as well, in that there doesn’t seem to be any chicken. There is a double meat, but it included sausage, which I’m not a big fan of. I asked if I could get brisket and pulled pork, which was agreed with.

I uploaded a picture of my meal to UrbanSpoon. The meal came as a bun with a decent amount of pulled pork topped by a good amount of brisket. I also got some fries (excellent!) and baked beans (not my favorite, had quite a bit of jalapeno). The brisket was very good, with good smoke flavor and very tender. I thought the pulled pork was a little less flavorful than it could have been, but it was tender, and there was a lot of it.

The sweet sauce was a bit overpowering, and the hot not too hot. I mixed the two together and it was a good combination. They also have a mustard-based sauce.

There was “tea” out of the soda machine, it wasn’t good at all. I had some DP and some Coke, and they were OK. My check was $11.66, which was decent value. I will be glad to go back. Chalco Hills has a lot of trails near by, hmmm….

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

