Stuffing Safety Down Our Throats. Maybe.

I just saw a news article on KOCO about the Memorial Day so-called crackdown on drivers by the Oklahoma Highway Patrol (OHP).

The data point I noticed was the 818 tickets DHS issued for seat belt violations over the weekend.

I’ve said before: I would NEVER even move my car without putting on my seat belt, but I completely oppose compulsory seat belt laws. They are claimed to be “for our safety”, but in reality they are just another tax, collected by gun-toting troopers from whom there is zero recourse.

So “keeping us safe” netted the state over $16,000 in ill-gotten gains. Sickening.

One thing: I don’t know where KOCO got their information. I looked over the DPS and OHP sites on the web, and there were no press releases or anything like that.

One thing I did notice. I wrote a blog post a couple years ago about the DPS and their totally fracked-up, probably least well-thought-out process (and I use that term very loosely) for scheduling tests for getting drivers licenses.

I saw on the DPS site that they have a prototype on-line scheduling system! Great for them. Except… if you want to use it after this testing period, you HAVE TO PAY FOR IT!

This is another example of government working against the citizens.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Stuffing Safety Down Our Throats. Maybe.”

  1. Tom Says:

    Yep. It’s the same as the state requirements to have auto liability insurance, wear a helmet on a motorcycle, or the Obamcare requirement to have medical insurance.

    • Bill Hensley Says:

      Actually, you have identified two unrelated items. The helmet and seatbelt laws are ostensibly to force us to be safe. They are just a step away from a law that would fine people for doing unsafe stuff around the house. Those laws “protect” us by charging us with a victimless crime.

      The laws mandating the various kinds of insurance are for spreading risk to a larger group. That’s a different rationale.

Leave a Reply

