Fracking Expansion in SW Oklahoma

This evening, Raegan and I drove down to the Girl Scout camp near Marlow to pick up Erin for another Girl Scout high adventure weekend adventure.

One thing I noticed: the cell service in camp has gone from a bar or so of EDGE to solid 4G. As we drove out of camp, I counted FOUR new cell towers to the west and north of the camp location.

Another thing I noticed: no less than five big (I mean, HUGE) drilling rigs in evidence.

As we drove out to the highway, and then east and north to Lindsay, I noted dozens of new facilities involved in oil/gas extraction.

This leads me to wonder if cell service follows oil and gas activities. I’ve noted much more complete cell coverage in northwest Oklahoma, where again there was a lot of fracking, then in other rural parts of the state where there is less exploration.

One Response to “Fracking Expansion in SW Oklahoma”

  1. Harold Penner Says:

    I think you have “cracked” the code on what causes more cell coverage!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

