El Charro, Muskogee, OK

El Charro on Urbanspoon

I have been eating at this place for a long time, and I can’t believe I haven’t written about it! Long overdue.

I was in Muskogee last evening late after being out at Greenleaf Lake State Park, and needed dinner. El Charro, happily enough, is open until 2200, so I stopped in.

I have usually had fajitas here, as they are always excellent. That’s what I had last night, and they were still excellent. Mixed beef and chicken. The problem I see with fajitas too often is the meat is dry and tough. Not so here, the meat and onions were tender and juicy and flavorful. I dumped the rice and beans and salsa right on top of the hot plate and mixed it all up, and ate every scrap. Wonderful.

Service was prompt and very friendly, as it always it. The place was not too busy, but it was latish. The iced tea was excellent as well, in a big glass.

So… as I checked out the menu, I saw that El Charro had both beef colorado roja and pork and beef chili verde (as any true Mexican place should have). I got pork chili verde to go and brought it back to OKC with me. It was in an aluminum bowl, so I popped it in the oven at 300F for about 20 minutes. It was wonderful! Some of the best I have had. The flavor was the flavor I have come to expect, but the key thing was that the meal wasn’t so spicy that it destroyed my sense of taste. It had just the right amount of spice, and that didn’t mask the flavor a bit. Gosh, that stuff was good. I rank it right there with the same dish as El Vaquero in Stillwater. Outstanding meal.

My check for both meals was $22.20. Great value. Recommended.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “El Charro, Muskogee, OK”

  1. Harold Penner Says:

    My late sister, parents, and I ate here. I really enjoyed it. Harold

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

