Evelyn’s, Tulsa, OK

Evelyn's on Urbanspoon

As my friend Clark would say, this place is legit.  My friend Gary in Tulsa recommended Evelyn’s, and yesterday I was able to check it out.  I wish they were in OKC!

Evelyn’s is right next to the Tulsa airport, and that is cool in itself.

They close at 1500 and are not open weekends.  I got there at 1415 and the place was moderately busy.  I ordered a two-piece chicken, all light.  My server said it would take a bit to cook.  I liked that, it meant fresh chicken.  It took about 15 minutes, but out came a breast (HUGE) and wing (also huge).  These were clearly pan-fried, with some darker patches (no problem).  The chicken had a wonderful flavor, and was moist all the way through without being greasy-drippy.  In particular, it’s hard to get that right with a big breast piece, but they did.  The crust was was perfect, crispy and great flavor.

The sides were also great.  Mine were pinto beans that tasted like they had been slow cooked for hours, great stuff.  The mashers and gravy were very good.

The iced tea came in a huge glass (the Way It Should Be) and was great.  Service was friendly and prompt.  My check was $13.39, which is great value.

Fried chicken is very hard to get these days.  I’m not talking about KFC or Churches.  Most places (think Eishen’s or Jim’s) use little pieces of chicken that are often overcooked and tough and stringy.  I think that Evelyn’s and Lucille’s are two places that do it right.

The lady who checked me out told me they did their chicken fried steaks the same way.  Now, I really have to go back.

Highly recommended.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

