The Hobbit Movie, Part 3

If such things bother you, there are spoilers here!

We went to see the final Hobbit movie last evening. I was unimpressed with the second part, and less than impressed with the first part.

As a movie, it was OK. As canon for The Lord of the Rings, I just didn’t like it.

As a note, as I write this, HBO is playing the first installment right now. I am not watching it, due to indifference. If one of the LOTR movies was playing, I would likely be watching it, as those movies were well made and keep my interest.

There were a couple things I liked. The battle between Saruman, Elrond, and Galadriel was pretty cool, even though it’s not canon. Or at least, it’s very liberally interpreted canon. Of course, the reason for the battle was to rescue Gandalf, which was bogus and not canon. And with another appearance by the Bunny Sleigh. *sigh*

I liked the ending as Bilbo returned home, and the Elven Kings caribou/elk/moose.

I did not like the sandworms of Arrikis coming to Middle Earth.

Major Plot Question: Why didn’t the orcs use the sandworms to come up inside the Mountain, send about 10,000 orcs to kill the dwarves, and loot all the treasure, without the need for a big battle?

The orcs were all wrong. The subplot with the Elf Babes (both male and female) added nothing to the movie except some cool CGI.

Dain and the BattlePig; really?. The Elven King saying “frack it” in the middle of the battle was not cool. In fact, the Elven King banishing the female Elf Babe was not cool either. I wish there had been some closure to that; did she get to come home? And why exactly did Legolas leave? Did the dwarves help the people of Lake Town and Dale get rebuilt?

It all comes down to the fact that there should have been two movies, not three, and that some of the plot and backstory that is canon, and so enriched the books (both TH and LOTR), should have replaced the bogus battle scenes and other filler. This movie was watchable, but it didn’t hold my interest hardly.

I will likely never look at any of these three again. I’m sticking with the book.

Leave a Reply

