Take 2, Bright Angel Lodge, Grand Canyon Village, AZ

This is a followup to my first post about the restaurant at the Lodge.

We had five meals at the Lodge on the backpacking trip this past week. This is just a quick summary post.

We had dinner Sunday night after arriving in the Park. We had fried mushrooms and zucchini to start; it was all excellent, especially the chipotle ranch dressing. My main course was spaghetti. The meat sauce was very good, but I think there were about two tablespoons on the pasta. I asked for more, and got a largish soup cup of the stuff, much better. That was a very good meal at that point.

We had breakfast there Monday morning. I got eggs over easy (that turned out over hard) and biscuits and sausage gravy. It was turkey sausage, so the gravy had an odd but not unpleasant flavor. Oh, and a side of most excellent bacon. Frankly, the eggs and odd gravy didn’t bother me, as I wanted to hit the trail! But I was carbed and proteined up for the adventure. However, I think the meal could have been much better.

We had late lunch there after getting off the trail Friday. I had a third pound cheeseburger and fries. And iced tea. LOTS of iced tea. Good beef, cooked medium well. Nothing left. I think I was tired of trail food.

We had dinner there later that evening. I had the 8 oz steak, it was perfectly cooked. I also had a baked tater. I asked for cheese, butter, and bacon. I got a huge soup cup of shredded cheese, some pats of real butter, and… three strips of (excellent) bacon. It took a while to get the tater ready, as I had to chop the bacon. The steak was perfect, though.

The last meal we had was breakfast on Saturday morning. I got the chili verde and shredded pork hash. I don’t know that I’ve had hash. I think I thought it would all be mixed up and grilled/tossed together. But the pulled pork was on one side, the eggs (hard over, again) in the middle, hash browns on the other side, a couple small bits of green chilis on the eggs. I mixed it up myself, but there was little to no flavor blending. Hmmmm.

Service, I have to say, was always very good.

It was a mixed bag. I don’t think the breakfast crew was on their A game, but the dinners were very good.

When we go back, I think I will try some other places, like the food court at the Maswik.

Leave a Reply

