So I Got A Ticket Yesterday

When we were driving to and from the hike to Bell Cow yesterday, I used one of the vans that is shared by the Troop and the First Presbyterian Church, our chartering organization.  I took the hikers to Braum’s and bought them ice cream for doing so well on the hike.

We were coming down I-35 and an Oklahoma Highway Patrol (OHP) state trooper came up in the fast line behind me.  She (I found out later) matched speeds with me and then scooted over two lanes to get behind me.  I knew something was up.  She pulled me over by Frontier City.

Turns out the tag on the van was out of date.  Way out of date, 2013.

Nothing bad happened here.  I think the state trooper was very professional about the whole thing.  She had authority to have the van towed and impounded, but she didn’t.  I had a van load of tired Scouts, and it would have been very inconvenient, but she realized that an expired tag isn’t then greatest threat to public safety.  I told her I would let the church know immediately, which I did.  She also said that when the tags were updated, let her know and she would cancel the ticket, which I certainly appreciate.

I got a huge ration of crap from the Scouts, of course.  🙂

I’ve driven that van all over the state (and out of state) over the past couple years, and I have never once thought to check the tag, even when I was back there hooking up the trailer.  I checked the other vans FPC uses and three of them were also out of date, so I let our COR know.  You can bet that checking the tag is on my list of things to look at in the future.

This was the first interaction I’ve had with OHP since probably 2002, when my brother and I were driving back to Newcastle around 0200 after being in Muskogee all day.  The trooper basically pulled us over at I-240 and Penn, checked our IDs, and sent us on our way.  I don’t know exactly why we got pulled over, I wasn’t speeding, and I don’t think I simulated a drunk, but that’s probably why.  So that turned out OK as well.

Tags: ,

One Response to “So I Got A Ticket Yesterday”

  1. Bill Hensley Says:

    The result of this: the church updated the tag on the van (and the other vans) the next day. The Trooper did not cancel the ticket (and in fact, lectured me that as the driver I was responsible). I went to court arraignment and the best that could be done was to show that the tag was updated, and the ticket was dismissed with payment of court costs (so $110 instead of the full $215).

    There were a lot of people in there, which means that the revenue stream is huge, which of course leads to questions about where all that money goes, but that’s a subject for another day.

Leave a Reply

