Old West Cafe, Sanger, TX

Old West Cafe Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

As I headed from the Dallas area to OKC this afternoon, I was in Sanger, TX just after noon. I saw the Old West Cafe on Google and decided to check it out.

I got there at 1245, the place was about half full. I ordered the CFS with mashers, gravy, and pinto beans. The mashers and gravy were very good. I liked the pintos, even though they had a taste of jalapeno in them. The pepper caused just a little bit of mouth burn, but that went away very quickly.

The CFS has real potential. I would rate this one an 8 out of 10. It was fork tender, and had pretty good flavor. It was clearly not pre-made. The problem I had with it is that it had been overcooked a bit. The breading was quit stiff and a bit hard to chew. I think it needed about a minute less cooking time. The CFS here is likely a real winner if it’s not consistently overcooked.

The iced tea was very good, and service was fast and very friendly. This place was slightly unusual in that all ordering was done with what looked like a smart phone, and checkout was done via iPad with a Square-like signature capture.

I hope to be able to visit again at some point; the place has potential. My check was $12.21.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

