Brownie’s Hamburger Stand, Tulsa, OK

Brownie's Hamburger Stand Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Permit me a moment. Back in my college days, when I was working the evening shift at Tayloe Paper Company, I visited my friend Gary quite often in the vicinity of the University of Tulsa. We hit quite a few cafes in that time, and one of the best was Brownie’s. Unfortunately, the mists of time had dimmed my memory of the name, but I had the general location, and I thought it was on an east-west street like 21st; I’ve tried to locate it on the occasion when we were in the NE Tulsa area around lunch. This past Monday, Ian and I were headed home after working in Muskogee, we were darned hungry, and I did a Google search for “best burger in Tulsa”, and Brownie’s popped up. We checked it out, and It Was The Place I Remembered. Except that being on Harvard, it was a north-south street. Regardless, the interior was the right one!

We were thirsty. Ian got a chocolate milkshake and iced tea. I got a root beer and iced tea. This apparently amazed the servers, look at all those drinks! 🙂

I had a bowl of chili. Our server and I had a miscomm, as I wanted it plain, and I got it with beans, cheese, and onions. The chili was OK. It had little flavor and no heat. I’ve had worse chili, but I’ve had better. It just needed more flavor.

For our main course, we both got double cheeseburgers. Those burgers were small, and perfectly cooked, with great flavor and a nice crust, and a grilled bun. Wonderful burger, and inexpensive!

Ian had fries, they were pretty darn good. The drinks were really good. I had four mugs of root beer, and a tea to go.

For all this, the service was very friendly and fast. Our check was $26.91 (the drinks drove the cost up, but that’s OK). I will remember Brownie’s from now on, and go back. Recommended.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

