Gear Review, Teton Sports Tracker 5F Sleeping Bag

As I have mentioned in a couple previous posts, I have been upgrading my backpacking gear over the past year. My most recent acquisition was a new sleeping bag, and I’m very happy with it.

Going back a bit. I used to carry a very bulky Cabela’s 0F bag (5.75 lb), or a bulky 25F Kelty bag (4 lb). I bought the 0F Cabela’sbag back in 2010 and was very happy with it, except it completely filled up the bottom compartment of my pack; the 25F Kelty was a bit better, but it just reduced the strain on the fabric of the bottom compartment of the pack.

Back in 2013, I was getting ready for a backpacking trip in Rocky Mountain National Park, and the evening before, I saw a Sportsman’s Warehouse (which I’ve always liked), and in there I found a Teton Sports 20F bag that was about half the size of my 25F bag, weighed 2.2 lbs (instead of 4), and was only $40. I bought it and tried it out the first night in the Park, which in September had a low near freezing; I was perfectly comfortable. I’ve used that bag on most of my backpacking trips since, and when I use it I can get my entire tent and some other stuff in the bottom compartment of my pack, very comfortably. So that’s an endorsement of the Teton Sports 20F Trailhead sleeping bag.

In the past couple months, I looked at many sleeping bags in the 0F range. While a few were compact, they were very expensive, in the $300 range. Then I ran across an ad for a Teton Sports 5F bag, the Tracker. It was about 2″ more in diameter and 2″ wider than my Teton 20F bag, but it weighed 4 lbs instead of 5.75, and the kicker, it was only $60 on Amazon (retail was something like $110, still a bargain).

Getting it in my pack was pretty easy, and I still had room for my entire tent, and a couple small items, but while the compartment was not straining, it was full.

I took that bag into Grand Canyon the first week of February. It didn’t get above freezing the entire time we were in the Canyon, and lows were in the 10F – 15F range. Ian had his Trailhead 20F bag, and he was a bit cold. I had the 5F Tracker, and I was perfectly comfortable and never cold (until I got out of the bag in the morning).

So, those Teton Sports sleeping bags are great! They are a very good combination of price, size, weight, and temperature rating. Recommended.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

